Facebook Botton Twitter Button Linkedin Button Tumbler Button Google+ Button Flickr Button Pinterest Button Feeds Contact Us
Indian Premier League Champions League T20 ICC World Twenty20 Twenty20 International T20 Cricket Teams Profile
Season T20 WC 2014 T20 WC 2012 T20 WC 2010 T20 WC 2009 T20 WC 2007      
T20 WC Home Squads Schedule Results Scorecards Team Standing Venues Statistics Records News T20 WC History
Match Video Live Scorecard Today’s Matches Upcoming Matches Photos Videos Players Profile T20 Ranking
  Home > T20 Worldcup History  
ICC World Twenty20-2014  
Australia  Cricket Logo
England  Cricket Logo
India Cricket Logo
New Zealand Cricket Logo
Pakistan Cricket Logo
South Africa Cricket Logo
Sri Lanka Cricket Logo
West Indies Cricket Logo
Bangladesh T20 Squad
Netherlands T20 Squad
  ICC World Twenty20-2014
Australia England India New Zealand Pakistan SouthAfrica Sri Lanka WestIndies Bangladesh Netherlands
IPL 8 Online tickets Booking 2015
Live Streaming Video
IPL 8  Points Table 2015
T20 Worldcup History
The format of ICC T20 World Cup

All 12 Participating teams devides in four groups of three in a preliminary round. The top two teams from each group will proceed to the Super Eight stage of the tournament. The Super Eight will consist of two groups. The top two teams from the two Super Eight groups would play the semi-finals, and the semi-final winners would contest the final.The winner of this final shall be declared world champions in Twenty20 cricket.

Glimpses of T20 Worldcup 2007 - South Africa

By 2007, the popularity of Twenty20 had gained such heights that ICC organized the first ever international Twenty20 tournament in South Africa between September 11 to 24, 2007. The tournament included 10 test playing nations, apart from ICC associate nations - Kenya and Scotland.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni led a young Indian team was the first winners of the tournament. India won by 5 runs against Pakistan at Johannesburg. Gautam Gambhir played a match-winning innings of 75 runs in the final. In this tournament Yuvraj Singh hit six sixes in a row in just one over. Chris Gayle also managed to score the first-ever hundred for the Twenty20 International.

Points Table / Team Standing 2007
Glimpses of T20 Worldcup 2009 - England

The second Twenty20 World Cup held in England from June 5, 2009 to June 21, 2009. The event was now seen as the ICC's biggest International tournement with millions watching around the world. England would go onto qualify for the Super Eights but the Netherlands victory would go down in history.

The final was played at Lords and the 2007 runners up Pakistan take on Sri Lanka. Pakistan made no mistakes the second time round winning by 8 wickets. Tillakaratne Dilshan was the man of the tournament.

Points Table / Team Standing 2009
Glimpses of T20 Worldcup 2010 - West Indies

The third edition of the Twenty20 World Cup took place in the West Indies during April 30 to May 16, 2010. The event was watched by millions from around the world. The hosts got the tournament off to a great start thanks to a 70 run victory over Ireland. Although the West Indies excited the tournament after a disappointing Super Eights.

The final was played at the Kensington Oval in Barbados and England won their first ever ICC trophy thanks to a thrilling seven wicket victory over their old rivals, Australia.

Points Table / Team Standing 2010
Glimpses of T20 Worldcup 2012 - Sri Lanka

The 2012 ICC World Twenty20 will be the fourth ICC World Twenty20 competition, an international Twenty20 cricket tournament that will be held in Sri Lanka from September 18, 2012 to October 7, 2012.

This will be the first World Twenty20 tournament held in an Asian country, the last three being held in South Africa, England and the West Indies respectively.The 2012 World Twenty20 will be the fourth edition of the Twenty20 tournament.

Points Table / Team Standing 2012
ICC World Twenty20 Finals at Glance
Year Host Country Venue T20 Title Winner Result Runner-up
2007 South Africa

Wanderers Stadium




India Won

by 5 Runs



2009 England





Pakistan Won

by 8 Wickets

Sri Lanka


2010 West Indies

Kensington Oval, Barbados



England won

by 7 Wickets



2012 Sri Lanka

R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo

West Indies 137/6

West Indies won by 36 Runs

Sri Lanka


2014 Bangladesh

Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium, Dhaka

Sri Lanka Cricket Logo

Sri Lanka 134/4

Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets



2016 India TBD   TBD TBD  
You may also like to see :
Points Table of T20 World Cup 2007
Points Table of T20 World Cup 2009
Points Table of T20 World Cup 2010
Points Table of T20 World Cup 2012